Home / ASEAN-India Network of Think –Tanks / 1st Round Table on ASEAN-Network of Think-Tanks (AINTT), 7-8 August 2012, New Delhi, India

1st Round Table on ASEAN-Network of Think-Tanks (AINTT), 7-8 August 2012, New Delhi, India


Day I: 7 August 2012

09.30 – 10.00 Registration 

10.00 – 10.45

Inaugural Session

  • Welcome address by Ambassador Shyam Saran, Chairman, RIS
  • Special address by Mr. Nyan Lynn, Deputy Secretary General for Political Security Community, ASEAN Secretariat, Jakarta
  • Inaugural address by Shri S. M. Krishna, Hon’ble Minister for External Affairs
  • Vote of Thanks by Dr. Biswajit Dhar, Director General, RIS

10.45 – 11.00

Tea / Coffee Break
11.00 – 12.30 Working Session I. Leveraging ASEAN-India Free Trade Agreement in Goods
In chair: Ambassador Shyam Saran, Chairman, RISPanelists:

  • Dr. Pradumna B. Rana, Associate Professor, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS), Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore
  • Mr. Poch Kongchheng, Researcher, Economic Institute of Cambodia (EIC), Phnom Penh
  • Mr. Pranav Kumar, Head, International Trade Policy, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), New Delhi


12.30 – 14.00 Lunch Break
14.00 – 15.30 Working Session II. Exploring Opportunities through Deeper Integration in the Services and Investment
In chair: Dr. Sok Siphana, Chair of Board of Directors, Cambodia Development Resource Institute (CDRI), Phnom PenhPanelists

  • Mr. Viengsavang Thipphavong, Deputy Director, Trade Policy Division, Economic Research Institute for Trade (ERIT), Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Vientiene
  • Dr. Aida Licaros Velasco, Associate Professor, Decision Science and Innovation Department, & Director, Center for Business Research and Development. RVR College of Business, De La Salle University, Manila
  • Dr. Ram Upendra Das, Senior Fellow, RIS


15.30 – 15.45 Tea/Coffee Break
15.45 – 17.30 Working Session III. Enhancing Connectivity for Promoting ASEAN–India Economic Integration
In chair: Ambassador Rajiv Kumar Bhatia, Director General, Indian Council of World Affairs (ICWA), New DelhiPanelists

  • Dr. Mahani Zainal Abidin, Chief Executive, Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS), Kuala Lumpur
  • Dr. Michael Yeoh, Co-founder and CEO of the Asian Strategic and Leadership Institute (ASLI), Kuala Lumpur
  • Dr. Suthiphand Chirathivat, Chairman, Chula Global Network and Executive Director, ASEAN Studies Center, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok
  • Dr. Siwage Dharma Negara, Researcher, Research Center for Economics, Indonesian Institute of Sciences (IIS), Jakarta
  • Mr. U Khin Maung, Former Superintending Engineer, Public Works Department, Ministry of Construction, Myanmar Government, Yangon
  • Dr. Prabir De, Fellow, RIS


19.30 Dinner at Nilgiri Hall, The Oberoi
Day II: 8 August 2012
09.00 – 10.30 Working Session IV: Joint Ventures in Third Countries
In chair: Ms. Ng Yeen Seen, Senior Vice President / Chief Strategy & Programme Officer Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI), Kuala LumpurPanelists

  • Dr. Nguyen Huy Hoang, Deputy Director, Southeast Asian Studies, Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences (VASS), Hanoi
  • Mr. Manab Majumdar, Assitant Secretary General, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI), New Delhi
  • Dr. S K Mohanty, Senior Fellow, RIS


10.30 – 11.00 Tea / Coffee Break
11.00 – 13.00 Working Session V: Strategies for Meeting the Challenges of Food Security
In chair: Dr. Mahani Zainal Abidin, Chief Executive, Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS), Kuala LumpurPanelists


13.00 – 14.00 Lunch
14.00 – 15.30 Working Session VI: Meeting the Challenges of Climate Change
In chair: Dr. Ramgopal Agarwala, Distinguished Fellow, RISPanelists


15.30 – 15.45 Tea / Coffee Break
15.45 – 17.00 Working Session VII: Cooperation in Biodiversity and Traditional Medicines
In chair: Dr. Myint Thaung, Former Rector, Yezin Agricultural University, YangonPanelists


17.00 – 17.30 Valedictory Session
In chair: Dr. Biswajit Dhar, Director General, RIS

  • Address by Mr. Sanjay Singh, Secretary (East), Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India
  • Vote of Thanks by Dr. Prabir De, Fellow, RIS, and Coordinator, AINTT
Scroll To Top