• A-
  • A
  • A+
  • A
  • A

International Conference to Commemorate the 20th Anniversary of ASEAN-India Cooperation

Event Date: 20 Sep 2012 to 21 Sep 2012
Event Venue: Bangkok

Day I: 20 September 2012

08.30–09.00 Registration 


Opening Remarks: Professor Kua Wongboonsin, Vice President of Chulalongkorn University
09.15–09.30 Special Remarks: H. E. Anil Wadhwa, Ambassador, Embassy of India, Bangkok


Lighting of the Lamp:
  • Professor Kua Wongboonsin
  • H. E. Anil Wadhwa
  • Dr. Chayodom Sabhasri, Dean, Faculty of Economics, Chulalongkorn University
  • Dr. Prabir De, Fellow, Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), New Delhi
  • Dr. Suthiphand Chirathivat, Executive Director, ASEAN Studies Center of Chulalongkorn University
09.40-10.00 Tea/Coffee Break


Session I: Trade, Investment and Economic Cooperationn

  Paper Presenters:

Chair and DiscussantDr. Chayodom Sabhasri

12.00-13.00 Lunch Break


Session II: Connectivity
  Paper Presenters:
  • Dr. Suthiphand Chirathivat and Ms. Anupama D Masali, Faculty of Economics Chulalongkorn University
  • Dr. Tin Htoo Naing, Yangon Institute of Economics (YIE), Yangon
  • Dr. Prabir De

DiscussantDr. Jean-Pierre Verbiest, Senior Consultant, Asia-Pacific Economies, Former ADB Country Director
ChairDr. Mia Mikic, ARTNeT Coordinator, Trade Policy Section, Trade and Investment Division, UNESCAP, Bangkok

14.45-15.00 Tea/Coffee Break
15.00-16.30 Session III: Education, Knowledge and Institutional Co-operation (especially in areas of science, society and innovation for sustainability)
  Paper Presenters:
  • Professor Surichai Wun’gaeo, Director, Center for Peace & Conflict Studies, Chulalongkorn University
  • Professor Lawrence Surendra, Visiting Professor, Planning Commission of India Chair, University of Mysore

ChairProfessor Wisarn Pupphavesa, Advisor, Thailand Development Research Institute (TDRI)

Day II: 21 September 2012

08.30–09.00 Registration
09.00-10.45 Session IV: Political Cooperation
  Paper Presenters:


  • Dr. Panitan Wattanayagorn, Department of International Relations, Faculty of Political Science, Chulalongkorn University
  • Dr. Prapat Thepchatree, Director, Center for ASEAN Studies, Thammasat University

ChairProfessor Tham Siew Yean

10.45-11.00 Tea/Coffee Break

Session V: Perspectives for the Future/Looking beyond the Region

  • Mr. Kasit Piromya, Former Foreign Minister of Thailand
  • H. E. Anil Wadhwa, Ambassador of India to Thailand
  • H.E. Lutfi Rauf, Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to Thailand
  • Dr. Biswajit Dhar, Director-General, Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), New Delhi. Speech was delivered by Dr. Prabir De
  • Assistant Professor Surat Horachaikul, Director, Indian Studies Center, Chulalongkorn University
12.15 – 12.30 Concluding Remarks
  • Dr. Prabir De
  • Dr. Suthiphand Chirathivat